fratting hard and fratting often

No Guile, No Game.

It’s Tuesday and I have done nothing for 2 days. Monday, my family returned from our “vacation” at the Lake. While we were there, we hung out a lot, ate out, shopped and we watched “Funny People.”

I got 4 new shirts at Polo, and I now have what you could probably consider a full Polo wardrobe. As for “Funny People,” it was probably the worst movie I have seen all summer. It was so bad, that I really can’t begin to describe it.

First of all, if it wasn’t  intended to be funny, then why would the name be “Funny People?” And, if it was supposed to be funny, then usually comedic greats like Adam Sandler, Seth Rogan and Jonah Hill FAILED miserably. I rarely laughed in the entire movie and it was overall extremely disappointing.

In the movie, Adam Sandler learns that he has developed a rare blood disease that can’t be treated very easily and he is expected to die. He is put on experimental medication that only has only treated 8% of people in the past. In one of the first scenes following where he learns he is dying, he puts on a standup comedy show at a comedy club. He is so distracted by the fact that he is sick and his jokes are poor, he appears horribly confused and the audience only gives him a few pity laughs. This scene describes exactly how I felt during the whole movie. You see these hilarious actors like Sandler, Rogan and Hill and you are expecting it to be really funny, but every attempt at humor is so pathetic. You sort of have to pity it, but then at the same time, it’s just so sad.

Well, I hope everyone (like anyone reads this) is enjoying the last bit of summer before school starts. Take care and God bless.

-guyphibrent

Currently listening to: “Come Fly With Me” – Frank Sinatra

Leave a comment